The Jury

HE Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson

juty_olafurPresident, Republic of Iceland
Zayed Future Energy Prize Jury

The fifth President of the Republic of Iceland Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson was born in Ísafjörður on May 14th 1943. His parents were Grímur Kristgeirsson and Svanhildur Ólafsdóttir Hjartar.


Dr. Han Seung-soo

Han-Seung-sooFormer Prime Minister
Republic of Korea
Vice- Chair, Zayed Future Energy Prize Jury

Dr. Han served as Prime Minister of Republic of Korea(2008-09). He is currently Member of the UN Secretary-General’s Advisory Board on Water and Sanitation and Founding Chair of High-Level Experts and Leaders Panel on Water and Disasters (HELP)/UNSGAB.


HE Mohamed Nasheed

Pres_NasheedFormer President,
Republic of Maldives

Mohamed Nasheed was elected president of the Republic of the Maldives on 28 October 2008, defeating incumbent President Maumoon Abdul Gayoom, who ruled the Maldives from 1978-2008.


HE Elizabeth Dipuo Peters

Minister of Transport
Republic of South Africa

HE Elizabeth Dipuo Peters was born on 13 May 1960 in the Northern Cape. She started her political activism at a very young age as a member of the Young Christian Students during her school days at Tidimalo Junior Secondary and Tshireleco Senior Secondary Schools.

Minister of Transport


Adnan Z. Amin

International Renewable Energy Agency

Adnan Z. Amin is the Director-General of the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA). In this capacity, he is responsible for leading the Agency in the implementation of its mandate to promote the adoption and sustainable use of renewable energy worldwide.


HE Ahmed Ali Al Sayegh

Ahmed_Al_SayeghChairman of Global Marketplace,
Abu Dhabi

Ahmed Ali Mohamed Abdullah Al Sayegh is the Chairman of Global Marketplace. His career has spanned numerous environmental initiatives in the Emirate of Abu Dhabi, he also serves as Vice Chairman of Emirates Wildlife Society (EWS).


Sir Richard Branson

Virgin Group

Sir Richard Branson is Founder of the Virgin Group. Virgin is one of the world’s most irresistible brands and has expanded into many diverse sectors from travel to telecommunications, health to banking, music to leisure and space travel to renewable energy. Founding more than 400 companies worldwide, Virgin employs approximately 50,000 people in over 35 countries.


Ratan N.Tata

Tata Trusts

Ratan N. Tata was the Chairman of Tata Sons, the holding company of the Tata Group, from March 1991 till his retirement on December 28, 2012. Effective December 29, 2012, Mr. Tata has been conferred the honorary title of Chairman Emeritus of Tata Sons, Tata Industries, Tata Motors, Tata Steel and Tata Chemicals.


Kathy Calvin

President and Chief Executive Officer
United Nations Foundation

Kathy Calvin is President and Chief Executive Officer of the United Nations Foundation.